Japanese Gods

The first collective of the Japanese gods were born at the creation of the universe are called the Kotoamatsukami. Kami is the name for an individual god or spirit.

As the myth of the Japanese Gods in the Kojiki unfolds, the first three deities were formed in the heavens and followed by the creation of two others. The original five are named the Separate Heavenly Deities. Afterward, the Seven Generations of the Age of the gods included five couples of gods and goddesses and two single deities.

An Emperor is considered a descendent of the original imperial family, appointed by the gods and referred to as Sumera-Mikoto, heavenly sovereign.

Scroll Up